Categories
Community

Year 2021: Highlights from Alumni Members

With 2021 coming to an end, some alumni members shared their highlight of the year with Amanda ’17, compiled by Tina ’17.

Despite the inconveniences and uncertainties that Covid-19 brought, life goes on. We continue to celebrate new births, new marriages, new adventures and most importantly, new growth. We also mourn for the loss of our loved ones and the sudden end of something great.

As the year 2021 is coming to a close, we asked some of you to share with us some reflections on your highlight of the year. Featured in this article are the highlights of a few alumni who have graciously shared their stories with us.


1. a journey, Wei Jie ’14

I went through my performance appraisal in September and it was a way for me to look back at my 1.5 years in Teach For All. What a journey it has been! I’ve built up our flagship program – the Network Connectors Initiative, worked with the most inspiring alumni from the Teach For All network from all corners of the world, galvanized colleagues from different functions, bridged colleagues interculturally, and developed so much. I am coming out of this a better community/network builder and a more mature leader.

It might sound glorious, but actually it is so challenging doing this remotely through many months of quarantine with maximum exposure to Malaysia’s political turmoil (now imagine doing this while watching colleagues from other countries go on summer vacation). My well-being also took a big hit at some point from navigating different time zones to the point where I developed chronic insomnia.

The biggest journey which I am most proud of was mustering every bit of motivation to push forward, admitting when things aren’t okay, and at the same time being able to feel that “I am enough”.

I celebrated with bagels from Founders Cafe with my family. Culture funds are the best.

2. a moment of relief, Sui Yang ’17

Kinda funny but my highlight for the year would be my Covid-19 vaccine appointments (or rather the 1st one) in June 2021.

I’m sure many felt the same too. It was a rare moment of relief and security to finally be vaccinated. Even though most of us didn’t fully trust it or had our doubts, it was significant as the first big step towards recovery and normalcy.

3. a new start, Melissa Kong ’14

A personal highlight for me was getting admitted to the Haas School of Business at UC Berkeley to start my MBA. I left my job at TFM in June 2021 and moved here in July. It’s been an overwhelming journey of constant change and learning, and I’m grateful that I have the opportunity to be back in school as a student and explore many different roles and industries through my classmates and the Haas network (similar to TFM’s and the wider Teach For All network!)

4. a leap of faith, Alicia ’14

Two years ago, I was living a fulfilling life teaching at an international school, serving God in various ministries, and staying in my little bachelorette pad. I thought that life was as good as it could get. This year, life was flipped upside down when I decided to take a leap of faith and join Dignity For Children. A few months later, my boyfriend and I got engaged.

On hindsight, God had sown the seeds for these major life changes in 2013, eight years ago.

It was eight years ago that I had joined the Otak-Otak Internship Program and first visited the premises of Dignity. During my two-hour tour of the school, I saw the necessity of the work that Dignity was doing. It is a net that breaks the fall of children who slip through the cracks of our broken system. Even back then, I was inspired because there is no dearth of people who have solid, unshakeable faith in the potential of children, and who work their butts off #forthekids. Today, I am grateful to be in a job that aligns with my calling in life to serve the underprivileged.

It was also eight years ago, during the same Otak-Otak Internship Program, that I met my fiancé. No sparks flew, back then, although we did have very good opinions of one another. We reconnected during the MCO through walks and Zoom calls and socially-distanced meals (it is possible to find love during a pandemic!). I am learning that a healthy, positive relationship is a bottomless source of well-being, through the love, joy and peace it brings to one’s life.

So I count my many blessings as I end the year… and though it is slightly hard to picture how life could get better, I attribute that to my limited imagination and I am fully prepared to be proven wrong.

5. a growth process, Bong ’18

My highlight this year is not an event, but the growth progress. During the quarantine and also pandemic lockdown period, I get the chance to deal with my own personal struggles (emotional and also thoughts) through counselling session, health group session and also self-reflection. These sessions help myself to understand myself better.

This period is a key highlight for me, as I reflect on what I really need and what I really want to make my life easier for me.

6. a High Point, Cai Yan ’14

This event is a highlight of my teaching career as I am glad to have such an opportunity to lead my pupils to have a lesson with me virtually for a TV program so that other pupils can benefit from it as well.

7. a dream come true, Nancy Sual ’17

I am celebrating my 30th birthday in a foreign country!

I am turning 30 and I am living my dream to study and live abroad!

8. A Significant Impact, Jessica Rummy ’18

A year-long pandemic wildlife conservation research that I was on board with (from mid 2020-mid 2021), which involved an extraordinary phenomenon called the pandemic anthropause has yielded significant outcomes for more citizen science projects to be initiated in Malaysia with local state governments. This event was particularly impactful because wildlife sightings at public places were considered relatively rare, and human mobility restrictions during the protracted health crisis have brought forward compelling discoveries with regard to wildlife behavioural patterns and movements. However, due to uncertainties revolving around the MCOs, we relied heavily on local communities for data collection. This move propelled and gave rise to the idea for citizen science projects or activities to be potentially incorporated into the Malaysian STEM education programme, which can be considered as a power move for conservation efforts in Malaysia.

This event has been poignantly empowering to me because women and young girls especially are being encouraged to participate as we foresee the intensification of future women conservationists and women citizen scientists in this part of Southeast Asia. 

The research was reviewed by renown zoologist Dato Sri Gathorne Gathorne-Hardy, followed by prominent biologist Prof. Emeritus Dato’ Dr. Abdul Latiff Mohamad, and has made it to The Malayan Nature Journal’s Vol. 73 (2) front cover page.

To discover more, kindly contact me at jessicarummy@elintistarc.com for a full read.

The cover page photo, a Smooth-coated otter that made an appearance during the anthropause was taken by award winning wildlife photographer and scientist, Dr. Graeme Guy.


As we read their happy experiences, may we partake in their joy too. As for those who are mourning, may we help by creating a safe space for them to express their feelings.

Some feel that 2021 has passed so quickly. We are reaching the end of the year in the blink of an eye. On the other hand, some can’t wait for the next year to come as their 2021 has been full with toil and turmoil. Regardless of how you feel about the year, I sincerely hope that you will give yourself a pat on the back. Well done, you, for coming this far!

© December 2021 – Amanda’17 and Tina’17

Leave a comment