Categories
Well-being

The Past Presents the Future

No, we are not talking about digging through our history textbooks to learn about the ancient times. The past I’m referring to is YOUR past. Your own personal journey throughout each year. Recalling back the mountains and valleys, and its in-betweens, can help shed more light on the meaning, lessons and accomplishments that each year presents. This would then be the building blocks in which you can use to pave a path for a better future. In a more TFM style term, it’s REFLECTION TIME!

The more you know about the past, the better prepared you are for the future.”

Theodore Roosevelt

No, we are not talking about digging through our history textbooks to learn about the ancient times. The past I’m referring to is YOUR past. Your own personal journey throughout each year. Recalling back the mountains and valleys, and its in-betweens, can help shed more light on the meaning, lessons and accomplishments that each year presents. This would then be the building blocks in which you can use to pave a path for a better future. In a more TFM style term, it’s REFLECTION TIME!

Here is a series of 18 reflection questions taken from a BFM Podcast by Jeevan Sahadevan, Leverage Lab that I have found to be quite spot on in helping me really evaluate my year’s past and plan for the future ahead. Have a look at these questions and even the responses shared by our alumni in their moments of reflection.

1. What were your top 10 goals for 2020?

I had the goal of reading more this year and I’m happy to say that I did accomplish that. Well, it wasn’t hard to do that since last year during the Fellowship I barely had time to read for pleasure.

Nadhirah Syalin ’18

2. What were your top 10 achievements for 2020?

One of my achievements is carrying out online classes because we always thought its like impossible, but this year we managed to do so.

Grace Lam ’17

3. What were the top 10 lessons you learnt in 2020?

2020 is just like the previous years we had, a good teacher that imparts many lessons and wisdom to us. But consider 2020 as a slightly more ‘garang’ than the others. If I am to choose one lesson from 2020, it would be the value and importance of having good relationships with others.

Nancy Sual ’17

Realising that no matter what, you should put yourself as priority first than others. I learned how to take care of myself more, and definitely how to improve my personal development.

Syafiq ’17

4. What was the biggest risk you took in 2020?

2020 for me personally has been a roller coaster ride starting with the posting delay and following with the school closure right after school posting. But even with the unforeseen future, they say plant an apple tree today. So, my biggest risk for 2020 is pursuing my PhD in the midst of Covid 19. Usually in a pandemic people will be saving or stocking necessities (eg toilet paper) but I beg to differ by investing my money in education hoping for better future.

Nani Saidi ’18

5. What was the smartest decision you made in 2020?

Going to Ipoh in February for Valentine’s Day because it turns out we wouldn’t get to travel for a long time after that. Plus I didn’t make any other travel plans this year because I decided to focus on saving money instead.

Kularetnam ’18

To explore online learning platforms and make preparations to move lessons online for my tuition centre before MCO was announced.

Elaine Yong ’17

6. Which 3 important relationships improved the most?

My family. 11 months away from everyone makes you more tolerant of everything. Had an uncle that passed away when I was stuck back here that I last saw during CNY and expect to meet again. Time away makes you forget the little things and appreciate time together with family to the fullest.

Noel Ng ’17

7. What were the 1-3 things that you did to make those relationship improve?

I’d like to share a story about a kid of mine, he used to be close to another kid and trained for badminton together under my supervision. Back when I was supervising them, I would always bring them to training from their house as they have transportation problems and their parents were busy with work. Also mainly because they have the potential too. Hence, the rapport built with them was strong. But kid A, had an attitude problem with me, and behaved however he liked. Sometimes rude, sometimes nice, but most of the time a couldn’t care less attitude. Until last year March, we lost kid B to a car accident. That happened a few months after I got transferred to a new school. He’s such a cheerful and helpful boy that many were pained by the loss. Both kid A and I were devastated, more so him as they’re childhood friends. After I slowly recovered from grieving, I thought of kid A and reached out to him, then his attitude changed. When I asked his teacher (my ex colleague) who’s been by his side during his grieving process, and asked what’s changed, she told me that he’s realised that I’ve been good to them and he’s taken it for granted. So, now and then, we will still keep in touch, together with his friends (my ex students) and during first MCO, they studied with me and played online games with me.

Hung Tong ’12

8. Name 3 people who had the greatest impact on you in 2020?

My colleague and good friend, Noor Diyana. We’ve been through thick and thin together, and since we’re in the last semester of our Masters degree, I’ve been grateful for how she’s helped me out in the statistic analysis area, something I’m not great at.

Shen Yen ’15

9. Who are the 5 people you spent the most time with in 2020?

My mom. Thanks to Covid, along with school closures and the school holidays, I came back to my hometown quite often.

Siew Ting ’17

10. How did those 5 people influence you (positively/negatively)?

I spent a lot of time with my husband this year, more than any other years in the past 11 years we’ve been a couple. Since we were LDR for the first 7 years, and afterward we both worked full time (me with regular hours, him with shift hours), our time together was enough but still always felt somewhat inadequate. This year with work from home and him starting a new job with regular office hours, we’ve spent tons of time together. Definitely a positive time investment as our marriage has evolved a lot this year and we’ve grown to understand each other more than ever. If anything it made me reassured that I definitely chose the right partner!

Hamsaveni ’15

11. What were the 3 best books you read in 2020?

This year I was able to read a few books due to the MCO.
As I turn 25 this year, I wanted to take my life as an adult seriously so that is why I picked up The Defining Decade by Meg Jay. I want to make the most of my 20s before joining the 30s gang.

Having a generous amount of introverted-ness in me has got me thinking that I must find some way around making genuine connection in networking. The Art of People by Dave Kerpen was very insightful and I love every bit of it. I think everyone should read it.

I connected with 2 of my friends and we talked about starting a virtual start up for dietitians. Inspired by that, I decided to read The Lean Startup by Eric Ries since we’re not funded and was just about to try out this concept into making it happen.

Max ’19

12. What are 3 things you are most grateful for in 2020?

A job, a roof over my head, and decent meals.

Ying Xuen ’17

Zoom, Netflix, internet connection.

Shahrun Niza ’12

1. Corona
2. Visionaire
3. Technology

Aishah Baith ’17

13. What 3 compliments do you wish people would have given you in 2020?

1 – ‘Wow, you have great work-life balance! Wanna emulate.’
2 – ‘You look happier/healthier/more at peace this year than in previous years.’
3 – ‘You’re doing your best and it’s enough.’

Emily Neoh ’18

14. What 1 word sums up your entire 2020?

Self-awareness.

Shearon Sim ’14

15. What are the 5 biggest necessary endings that must happen for 2021 to be spectacular?

2020 had separated my wife (Ann 2019) and I (physically due to distance). I felt I missed out on a lot of things without being with my own wife. While our relationship did not deteriorate, I can’t help think that it would be great if we are nearby, doing what we like without sacrificing time for each other. Without MCO, we could have travelled more often to see each other. However, that wasn’t the case with 2020. With Covid in the air, travelling was very limited and prevented us from seeing each other. Thank God for Whatsapp video calls to reduce that strain. I wish that 2021 would be kinder to us both and let us be near each other and perhaps even be blessed with a child, if God willing that is. Hence Covid is a necessary ending for 2021 to be spectacular.

Fabian ’15

16. What are the 5 powerful habits that you must develop in 2021?

1) Sleep at 11.30pm (or before)
2) Journal daily
3) Exercise at least 3 times per week
4) To reply WhatsApp messages within 24 hours (haha…..)
5) To check in with a friend once a week

Sze Ern ’15

17. What are your top 10 goals for 2021?

To take care of my health! To run at least thrice a week, for at least 30mins for each session. I hope I can also beat my 10km personal best (52mins) and achieve 50minutes In 2021!

Bernard Ow ’17

One of my goals in 2021 is to read more books / non-fiction material! I have a lot of good books gathered from gifts and previous purchases but didn’t have the proper time, discipline, and focus to finish them. I hope I can at least complete 1-2 books per month.

Calvin Tan ’15

To have better boundaries for myself in terms of how I manage my energy and relationships.

Rheena ’19

My reaction when someone asks me about my 2021 goal.

Tina Tan ’17

18. What 1 word or sentence would be your theme for 2021?

Unlearn.

Yi Fen ’13

Ultimately, when we truly take the time to re-evaluate our actions and life investments over the past, that is when, we can change the current trajectory of our future. Do take the time to sit down, over a cup of coffee and really process through these questions. You’ll be surprised at what would unfold before you.

History is not a burden on the memory but an illumination of the soul.

Lord Acton

© December 2020 – Amanda Navaratnam ’17

Leave a comment